Oats & Nuts bites

Nowadays I am always thinking about incorporating whole grains and oats in our diet and recently I stumbled across this quick snack bites made from various nuts and oats. They also contain dates which provide a wide range of essential nutrients. These are so easy to make and healthy, but they are also so yummy that my husband and I can’t stop eating them. They remind me of the ground peanut ladus (small ball sized bites) my mother use to make on days when we were fasting for some festive occasion. The original recipe can be found here but as usual I have made my own changes.

1 cup each of peanuts, almonds, oats, and dates.

1/2 cup shredded or pieces of dry coconut
1-2 tbsp cocoa powder or dark chocolate pieces
1-2 tbsp good quality honey

The measurements are purely for reference. You can use them in any proportion as you like. I used a little more peanuts because I really like their taste. I forgot to add the chocolate this time but it didn’t affect the taste much.

Toast the peanuts, almonds, oats, and coconut individually to develop their flavors.

I found this huge 3.5 lbs tub of pitted dates in Costco for a cheap price. They are a great snack by themselves and so good to have on hand.

Chop the dates into pieces.

Add everything in the food processor and grind to a coarse powder. Now add the honey and buzz again so everything comes together and can be easily shaped in to small balls.

Using a teaspoon measure for small size or tablespoon measure for medium size, roll out the mixture into small balls. Tighten them with your palms. These store well for a couple of weeks on the counter top without refrigeration.

Leave a comment